Out of the frying pan into the fire
A coming of age tale…won’t you come along with me?

And they say it only happens in the movies…

Today on the way to work, while waiting at the stoplight, I was practicing my best “come hither” pout in my car’s vanity mirror…as all true femme fatales do…when I felt someone staring at me.  You know that feeling of eyes burning a hole through you?  That was it.  And not wanting to run the risk of heat damage to my hair, I turned my head to meet the stare…

A man, had to be in his forties, at the very least, business attire, was indeed staring at me.  He mouthed the words, “Good Morning.”  I merely nodded in acknowledgement.  I turned my head back to continue waiting for the light, singing a little with the radio, when I felt it again…that burning stare….

I turned my head again and sure enough, he was still staring. (must have been raised by wolves or coyotes)  This time he proceeded to smile and wave to me.  I do not know the exact statistics, but I am fairly sure they are pretty low that someone trying to pick up someone else while at a stoplight does not work often.  I turned my head back for the third time…and aside from wondering when this light would change, I felt his laser stare again, burning into the side of my temple.

I had barely turned my head to look at him again when he blew a kiss in my direction.  I rolled my eyes and as I did, the light changed to that glorious emerald green and I put my foot on the accelerator.  The morning rush Romeo did as well, unfortunately, he crashed right into the car in front of him. 

Did I forget to mention he was in a “left turn only” lane?  And that he was married?

One Response to “And they say it only happens in the movies…”

  1. Welcome, welcome, by the way, to the blogging world. Any friend of Veaj’s is a friend on mine.

    I read an article recently about men staring at women on the subway. The article said that there was a two-second rule. After two seconds, you have to stop looking or it turns rude. I think they would have outlawed winking or blowing kisses too. Just a guess.

    And the accident? Karmic justice works quickly sometimes.


Leave a comment